Read Eebenipuust torn by John Fowles Free Online

Ebook Eebenipuust torn by John Fowles read! Book Title: Eebenipuust torn
The author of the book: John Fowles
Edition: Perioodika
Date of issue: 1981
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
Loaded: 2317 times
Reader ratings: 6.9
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 24.69 MB
City - Country: No data

Read full description of the books:

Speed dating with books 3/6
Since I am moving my books from one room to another and building a new bookcase I realized (again) that I have way too many unread books. I decided to choose 6 (for the beginning) of the ones waiting on my shelves for a long time or that I do not know if I would like, read 50 pages and decide if I want to continue with them or send them away. This week and the next I will share with you the results.

The Ebony Tower is a collection of novellas by John Fowles. I was gifted this short book by my aunt back in 2003 because she knew I enjoyed the author. Actually, two of his works ( The Collector and The Magus) are among my favorites and Mantissa received 4*. Even then, I wasn't a big fan of short stories so I postponed my immersion in this collection. Since 15 years have passed and I still had this in my library I said to give it a try. I read one of the novellas which was exactly 50 pages long but it did not impress me enough to make me continue with the other titles. As such, this one goes as well.

Download Eebenipuust torn PDF Eebenipuust torn PDF
Download Eebenipuust torn ERUB Eebenipuust torn PDF
Download Eebenipuust torn DOC Eebenipuust torn PDF
Download Eebenipuust torn TXT Eebenipuust torn PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook Eebenipuust torn read Online! John Robert Fowles was born in Leigh-on-Sea, a small town in Essex. He recalled the English suburban culture of the 1930s as oppressively conformist and his family life as intensely conventional. Of his childhood, Fowles said "I have tried to escape ever since."

Fowles attended Bedford School, a large boarding school designed to prepare boys for university, from ages 13 to 18. After briefly attending the University of Edinburgh, Fowles began compulsory military service in 1945 with training at Dartmoor, where he spent the next two years. World War II ended shortly after his training began so Fowles never came near combat, and by 1947 he had decided that the military life was not for him.

Fowles then spent four years at Oxford, where he discovered the writings of the French existentialists. In particular he admired Albert Camus and Jean-Paul Sartre, whose writings corresponded with his own ideas about conformity and the will of the individual. He received a degree in French in 1950 and began to consider a career as a writer.

Several teaching jobs followed: a year lecturing in English literature at the University of Poitiers, France; two years teaching English at Anargyrios College on the Greek island of Spetsai; and finally, between 1954 and 1963, teaching English at St. Godric's College in London, where he ultimately served as the department head.

The time spent in Greece was of great importance to Fowles. During his tenure on the island he began to write poetry and to overcome a long-time repression about writing. Between 1952 and 1960 he wrote several novels but offered none to a publisher, considering them all incomplete in some way and too lengthy.

In late 1960 Fowles completed the first draft of The Collector in just four weeks. He continued to revise it until the summer of 1962, when he submitted it to a publisher; it appeared in the spring of 1963 and was an immediate best-seller. The critical acclaim and commercial success of the book allowed Fowles to devote all of his time to writing.

The Aristos, a collection of philosophical thoughts and musings on art, human nature and other subjects, appeared the following year. Then in 1965, The Magus - drafts of which Fowles had been working on for over a decade - was published.

The most commercially successful of Fowles' novels, The French Lieutenant's Woman, appeared in 1969. It resembles a Victorian novel in structure and detail, while pushing the traditional boundaries of narrative in a very modern manner.

In the 1970s Fowles worked on a variety of literary projects--including a series of essays on nature--and in 1973 he published a collection of poetry, Poems.

Daniel Martin, a long and somewhat autobiographical novel spanning over 40 years in the life of a screenwriter, appeared in 1977, along with a revised version of The Magus. These were followed by Mantissa (1982), a fable about a novelist's struggle with his muse; and A Maggot (1985), an 18th century mystery which combines science fiction and history.

In addition to The Aristos, Fowles wrote a variety of non-fiction pieces including many essays, reviews, and forewords/afterwords to other writers' novels. He also wrote the text for several photographic compilations.

From 1968, Fowles lived in the small harbour town of Lyme Regis. His interest in the town's local history resulted in his appointment as curator of the Lyme Regis Museum in 1979, a position he filled for a decade.

Wormholes, a book of essays, was published in May 1998. The first comprehensive biography on Fowles, John Fowles: A Life in Two Worlds, was published in 2004, and the first volume of his journals appeared the same year (followed recently by volume two).

John Fowles died on November 5, 2005 after a long illness.

Reviews of the Eebenipuust torn


Easy to read, easy to understand!


This book would read to every man for ...


Why do you need to write a phone?


After reading this book, Your life will change!


Another one-time book

Add a comment

Download EBOOK Eebenipuust torn by John Fowles Online free

PDF: eebenipuust-torn.pdf Eebenipuust torn PDF
ERUB: eebenipuust-torn.epub Eebenipuust torn ERUB
DOC: eebenipuust-torn.doc Eebenipuust torn DOC
TXT: eebenipuust-torn.txt Eebenipuust torn TXT